Daily Prompt: The Transporter

Tell us about a sensation — a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.

 

Fall of 1983.  I was with what was half of my high school class, I want to a small high school, and we were playing floor hockey at a church gym.  It was a Friday night.  We were killing time because we were really waiting for the new Van Halen album to debut on KSHE 95.  The album was 1984.  Once the radio station started playing the album we all stopped, sat around the radio and just spent the next hour listening to the album.  We hardly talked we just wanted to hear the album.  Once the album was done everyone started talking about wanting to see Van Halen when they stopped in St. Louis, or critiquing the songs.   We were all pumped and couldn’t wait for the album to be available in stores.

van halen 1984

 

To this day, when ever I hear a song from that album, I am immediately transported back to that night with my friends listening to the debut of the album on the radio.

 

Speaking of music the debut of my radio program on blogtalkradio will occur Saturday.  Details will be posted here on Friday.  I hope you will listen to the show on Saturday or the archived version.

 

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Music
10 comments on “Daily Prompt: The Transporter
  1. Good for you! Follow those dreams…how exciting!!! Van Halen 1984 was one of my first cassette tapes….Christmas 7th grade..a million years ago along with Scorpions Love at First Sting and Madonna Like a Virgin those were my first cassettes…there may have been an Ozzy in there also.

  2. A2LSM says:

    I love when hearing a song transports me back to a specific moment in time! I loved that album…by the way 🙂

  3. Trisha says:

    Ah, yes, 1984. It reminds me of high school dances and Friday night videos

  4. The sweet sounds of true rock ‘n roll. . . .

  5. Ha! I owned this album.

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,352 other followers

What I have been up to
