I wanna hold your hand

IMG_0144

I spent my Valentine’s Day watching a Beatles Tribute band called Yesterday. This was probably about my sixth or seventh Beatles tribute band I have seen. It got me thinking about who among today’s artist will still have the drawing power that The Beatles still have today. The venue held only 500 people and it was sold out. I have seen 1964 as The Beatles at Red Rocks, and it was a near sell out. Rain, The Beatles experience at Pike’s Peak Center also a near sellout. The music of the Fab Four still draws today. Will Taylor Swift’s music? Beyonce? Justin Timberlake? Who in today’s music scene still have that drawing power? I honestly don’t see anyone.

Those four lads from Liverpool changed the music world in so many ways and they still have an effect on music and the listeners today. It was great to be at a show where everyone knew the lyrics of every song played and sang along with every song. A show where the music was the focus not lights, dance routines, special effects, or videos. The band did three costume changes to represent three different eras with the last change to Sgt Peppers, but that was all. The rest of the show focused on the music.

I admit this group looked the least like The Beatles than others I have seen, and the sound was not as good as others, but in reality it didn’t matter. It was just hearing the music of the Beatles that mattered.

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with:
Posted in Music
6 comments on “I wanna hold your hand
  1. Leslie Stockton says:

    I have never been a big fan, but i do like this song and a few others. Now don’t shoot me lol lol Have a great day 🙂

  2. Rick says:

    We saw a Beatles tribute band with the Nashville Symphony. It was a lot better than I expected. I’m not a big fan of the Beatles, but there’s no denying their influence.

    As for tribute bands of the future, I can’t think of anyone they would mimic.

  3. dragonflyzia says:

    Good show tonight and the interview are so much better now that you have them live in your studio. I have a different view of a mouse in my kitchen though…. imagine a cartoon ‘splat’. I hope that you have a great week! 🙂

  4. dragonflyzia says:

    Good show tonight! I hope that you are still enjoying your new studio. 🙂

    • Yes I love the studio I walk in each week and can’t believe I’m doing this. Thank you for listening. Hope you thaw out soon, we just got hit with a big storm this weekend. The biggest of the winter so far.

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,352 other followers

What I have been up to
February 2015
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
