What Will The Neighbors Think by Jasmine Kyle

AlbumWhatWillAllTheNeighbors_ThinkLighter1

The debut CD was released this past week by Jasmine Kyle. The CD is a window, if you will, into Jasmine’s life. She grew up in Des Moines Iowa, had an abusive father. Moved to Los Angeles for a while before moving to Wisconsin with her husband

The album is just Jasmine on the piano.  It is a CD that grabbed me with the powerful emotions that only someone who has been through the experiences that she has been can capture.  Just take the opening lyrics from “Forgiveness” as an example:

“They said forgiveness will free me from my burden/they say love is an easy path to walk on/What was forgiven is not forgotten and it won’t leave/And they never say how to heal from that.”

or the lyrics to “I Bite” :

“To boys,/Boys who beat girls/You may meet some who’ll comply/Fair warn/There are also girls like me/Who won’t go down without a fight/I’ll Bite”

The second verse to the song is even more powerful, but one needs to listen to the song and hear the emotion from Jasmine.

The subject matter of the songs and the theme of the CD works for me because of Jasmine, because of how she uses the piano and her voice to deliver the feelings.  For a debut album I was impressed with what I heard.  I know some may shy away from the CD because they don’t want to hear about things that happen behind closed doors.  These are the people who really need to hear it, hear the lyrics feel the emotion.

You can find out more about Jasmine at http://www.jasminekyle.com, you can hear several tracks from the CD at http://www.soundcloud.com/jasmine-kyle or you can order the CD from cdbaby.com

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Music
3 comments on “What Will The Neighbors Think by Jasmine Kyle
  1. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    OH LOVE IT!! IT’s perfect thank you SO SO much!

  2. bulldog says:

    Great review to which I totally agree…

  3. dragonflyzia says:

    I like it, she has an amazing voice and I love the extra things in the background like the thunderstorm. Very unique. If anybody out there has plans to host a dinner party, I think that this would be perfect to have softly playing in the background.

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,352 other followers

What I have been up to
September 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
