Destiny by Roswitha

Roswitha CD Cover Destiny

I admit, I struggled a lot with this CD.  It is a CD that is hard to classify.  The music is very different, different from anything I have heard in a long time.  It is a CD one has to be very open to what they are about to hear. A clear mind with no preconceived notions.

Roswitha grew up in Austria, began performing professionally with the violin at age 13, she began her classical violin studies at the age of 14 at the University of Music and Drama at Graz Austria.  She holds bachelors of fine art degrees from New School University Jazz Program New York City and Anton Bruckner Private University for Music, Drama and Dance, Linz, Austria.  She has performed under the name Queen Rose, appearing on the Conan O’Brien show, the Latin Grammy’s and on MTV’s unplugged with Trey Songz.  As a member of the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas, she has performed with John Legend, Santana, Gloria Estefan and Patti LaBelle.

Destiny was released in March of this year.  The title track has a Latin flair, Roswitha says about the song “This is a song to inspire others to seek their destiny,” she reveals. “I sing on the bridge ‘seek your destiny, it will set you free,’ I truly believe that. I sing from a female perspective, but it is a universal theme.”  “Desire”  has a middle eastern flair especially with the violin, played by Roswitha, throughout the song.  “My Life” is a pop rock song, it has the electric guitar going strong, mixed with the violin in sections of the song along with drums.  The song talks about living one’s own life.

Overall the tracks I heard I enjoyed.  It took a couple listens of each to really appreciate the music and the vocals of Roswitha.  As I said in the beginning it is a CD that is different, but in a good way.  Take a chance with this CD, you may be pleasantly surprised with it.  You can learn more about Roswitha at her website http://www.queenrosemusic.com  Tune in Sunday 9pm eastern on Front Range Radio as I will feature a track from the Destiny CD.

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Music
11 comments on “Destiny by Roswitha
  1. Rick says:

    I gotta check this one out.

  2. Roswitha says:

    Thanks Tim for your honest blog post 🙂 I appreciate it! let me know if the music grows on you more over time, would love to hear about it! Love & blessings Roswitha

  3. […] of that leads me to what I discovered over at Front Range Scribbles. Yesterday, he wrote about Roswitha, a violinist who has found a new way to express the sounds of […]

  4. dragonflyzia says:

    I really liked the violin…that was my favorite part….interesting pick.

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
