Sometimes I just want to rock

One of the joys about doing my radio show is getting to hear new music from artist that you just don’t find on commercial radio, and some of them should be heard on these stations. One such artist is Angela Alvarez who just released a three song EP “Someday” in June. I have been listening to these songs for several days and you know what, they have not grown old yet. It is refreshing to hear songs that have strong vocals, nice lyrics, good guitars, and of course drums. Songs that don’t rely on a ton of electronics. Angela recorded “Someday” with Jim Wirt who has worked with Fiona Apple and Incubus. The songs are good solid songs, they are not flashy and full of gimmicks just some good rock. The lyrics are catchy, but not to the point where they become annoying yet they have feeling and heart in them. The three songs on the EP are “Not Waiting Around”, “Someday”, and “Your Lies” each one just as good as the other.

From her website:

Born in Calgary and raised near Cleveland, OH, Angela began singing at age 3. She grew up playing piano, but spent most of her free time on dance, gymnastics and baton twirling. After high school, Angela bought her first guitar, an “Almost Perfect” Alvarez to take to college. “I wanted a way to play music in my dorm room, so I bought that guitar with the money I got for graduation.”After failing twice to gain entrance into the musical theater program, Angela eventually decided to focus on a more traditional career which brought her to Phoenix, Arizona after graduating. During her first summer there, she began writing songs for the first time. ”I was always a creative writer, but had never thought much about writing songs. As soon as I understood the basics of song structure, lyrics began pouring out of me faster than I could write them down.”

Soon the pressures of a new career, new life and new city called her away from music once more until August 2009, when Angela took her guitar along with her on a camping trip with friends. After playing and singing the few songs she knew around the campfire, several friends encouraged her to start performing and further pursuing music.

“That camping trip was a major turning point for me. Hearing my friends say they loved my music was very encouraging. I decided if I’m going to do this, I’m really going to do this right, so that’s when I began guitar lessons and performing wherever I could.” Less than one year after beginning the Scottsdale open mic circuit, Angela was offered her first regular professional gig.

Since that time, the momentum has continued to build and Angela has performed all over Phoenix as a soloist and with her band Chasing Venus. She has also performed in various venues in Tucson, San Diego, and her hometown, Cleveland, Ohio.

angela

I also have to give Angela credit she had her CD release party in June and donated proceeds from the show to benefit Hear for Kids, a program of the Ear Foundation of Arizona. Not only does she release a good EP, she is helping a worthy cause. You can find more about Angela by going to her website http://www.angelaalvarezmusic.com if you are lucky enough to live in the Phoenix AZ area, check out one of her shows. I can’t wait for her to hit Colorado to do some shows, hopefully she will tour here soon. If I can I will try to get her on Front Range Radio for an interview, I will definitely be playing her songs on the show real soon.

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Music
6 comments on “Sometimes I just want to rock
  1. The best part about your shows is that I get to hear people that I never would have listened to on my own. I listened to Someday and I liked it, her video was cute too. Thanks for finding another great talent!

  2. The Hook says:

    I’m sure the list of joyful things about being on the radio is endless.
    Keep up the good work!

  3. Wow, Tim! I’m so flattered. Thank you so much for the kind words. I’m sooooo glad you like the music. I used to travel up to Denver all the time but it’s been a few years so I’m definitely due! Will keep you posted as tour plans develop…thinking of doing a west coast mini-tour soon. Thanks again for what you do…really grateful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
July 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
