We are on fire

I live in Colorado as many know, while we don’t have very many tornados, or lots of flooding, or any hurricanes, we do have wildfires. It is very dry now, the past winter the lower elevations did not get a lot of moisture. There are several large wildfires burning in the state, one very near the city I reside in. I’m out of town for work and all I can do is watch the Internet streams from the local stations. Please keep Colorado in your thoughts, the fire season for us has started early and the summer has just begun. If you know a rain dance we would appreciate one being done.

20130612-212439.jpg

Photo by John Wark

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with:
Posted in Life, Nature
14 comments on “We are on fire
  1. I just heard about this today from a Coloradan.

  2. We are in Oklahoma and have been watching this on the news….many thoughts and prayers being sent your direction. Hoping those winds STOP! ♥ paula

  3. This was on my mind. We have so much rain here in St. Louis, that we would gladly share as the fields are too wet for local farmers to get their crops in. I’m hoping that your family will be safe.

  4. Ingrid says:

    Years ago we lived off Old Ranch Road among the beautiful pine trees. This is truly stomach turning. Now I live 35 miles east of the Royal Gorge as I watch that plume of smoke….sad times in Colorado. Let’s hope for rain 🙂

  5. The Hook says:

    All the best to you, my friend.
    I’m sending positive, wet thoughts your way.

  6. Rain dance….mmm I’m sure I can come up with something. Hang in there and be safe, my thoughts are with you and your family.

  7. acflory says:

    We’ve just come out of our fire season here in South East Australia. I have my fingers crossed for you. I’ve grown to hate summer. 😦

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
June 2013
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
