The end is upon me

Son:

Your high graduation is less than 24 hours away.  I never thought this day would arrive.  Some 15 years ago when I dropped you off at preschool this day seemed so far away to me, now it is staring me in the face and I don’t like it.  I am happy and proud for you and the accomplishments you have made, and I know they are only the beginning of many more accomplishments to be had.  I am also saddened and filled with heart ache.  You have grown up on me and I couldn’t stop it.  I wanted you to stay young forever.  I am but one of many parents who feel this way and I can not change time, nor deep down would I want to as that is unfair to you.  I will remember all the laughter, treasure all of the joy and memories your school years have brought me.  I am not a very eloquent person you know that, so I will pass on the wisdom of Rod Stewart as he sang it best:

May the good lord be with you 
Down every road you roam 
And may sunshine and happiness 
Surround you when you’re far from home 
And may you grow to be proud 
Dignified and true 
And do unto others 
As you’d have done to you 
Be courageous and be brave 
And in my heart you’ll always stay 
Forever young, forever young 
Forever young, forever young 

May good fortune be with you 
May your guiding light be strong 
Build a stairway to heaven 
With a prince or a vagabond 

And may you never love in vain 
And in my heart you’ll always remain 
Forever young, forever young 
Forever young, forever young 
Forever young 
Forever young 

And when you finally fly away 
I’ll be hoping that I served you well 
For all the wisdom of a lifetime 
No one can ever tell 

But whatever road you choose 
I’m right behind you, win or lose

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Life
7 comments on “The end is upon me
  1. Very moving! Yes, it’s hard when kids grow up, but it’s also great to see them go their own way with the tools you gave them. Love that song.

  2. That was beautiful! You know how I feel…..I’m all for keepin’ them in a bubble so I feel for you. Enjoy the festivities 🙂

  3. Caddo-Jael says:

    I remember when I could no longer attend my younger siblings graduations–my mother was very stalwart, but I would sob like the world was ending.

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I have been up to
May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
