Voice Mail-Where is the Love

I recently read an article by Caity Weaver on Gawker, that basically said she doesn’t like to receive voice mail messages and it is too much work to listen to them. She would rather people text her. You can read her article here

Have we become that lazy of a society that we won’t listen to a voicemail?

Have we become that disconnected from each other that the only communication we want is via a 140 character text?  I know several people who have basically said they wont answer the phone anymore. Why?

We don’t want to talk to people anymore we just want to send text messages.  What happened to actually talking to people? What happened to hearing someone’s voice.  Texting has its place, but texting is sterile and has no emotion.  Sure you add your little smiley faces but it is not the same as hearing the happiness or sadness in someones voice.

I guess I am in the minority, I enjoy hearing someone’s voice.  I enjoy getting phone calls although I admit they are fewer and fewer.  I still want human interaction with others. If you leave me a voicemail, I promise I will listen to it and I will call you back and yes if you text me I will text you back also.

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Life
11 comments on “Voice Mail-Where is the Love
  1. I am with you on this! Texting is never a replacement for personally interaction. And, my phone bill can back that up! 😉

  2. It’s not just you! It’s a sad sad world out there. I have met people who have no social skills face to face but can text like they are a social butterfly. The only time I get upset is when I can’t get a phone call on my birthday, texting is a sorry excuse for a happy birthday.

  3. A2LSM says:

    I am one of the texters, but I’m working on being a reformed texter!! But I would never send a Birthday text…phone calls only 🙂

  4. I’m with you on this although I will admit that I check my caller ID box before picking up, because I don’t want to talk to a sales pitch.

  5. I also get really excited about receiving snail mail, too!

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
