The clock is ticking, what will you do

Now that the Mayan calendar/end of the world hype is over there is a question I would like for you to ponder.  I heard this being discussed on the radio this morning and it made me think of my own response.

You have 60 minutes left before the world ends.  You will die, everyone else will die there is no escaping.  The question becomes how will you spend those last 60 minutes?

Image from whatdoesitmean.com

Image from whatdoesitmean.com

One person mentioned they would go on a looting spree, but if 60 minutes is all you have left, then what will looting do?  The items you take are not going to be useful, nor will you have a lot of time to enjoy them.

Image from guardian.co.uk

Image from guardian.co.uk

Now I know many people will answer  saying they would spend that 60 minutes with their loved ones.  I understand that thinking, it will be the last you see them, at least in this life, so you want to enjoy the final minutes.

Some will say they will get drunk, which I guess is fine, but really do you want to spend the last minutes on earth with a bottle(s)?

Some will say they would head to a church. synagog or some other house of worship and pray, which is also very understandable.  People want to make peace with their creator and prepare themselves spiritually for the end.

Image from ajgibson.org

Image from ajgibson.org

Since you only have 60 minutes it’s not like you can fly anywhere to see someone, you really can’t drive a long distance either.  Your options are probably limited to what is around you at that moment in time.

My response, I would gather my family, assuming we are all in the same location, and head to one of the mountains and try to get as high up the mountain as I could.  Then just watch and wait for the end.  60 minutes does not leave you a lot of time to get far.  Traffic would probably slow us down.

It is fun to think  about what we might do, but truth be told when the sh*t hits the fan, how we really react maybe and probably will be a lot different.

Back to the original question, what would you do if you only have 60 minutes left before the world ends?  I would love to read your thoughts.

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Life
15 comments on “The clock is ticking, what will you do
  1. timkeen40 says:

    I have to submit that no one truly knows what they will do when confronted with the fact that they only have sixty minutes to live. History suggests that people do not have good track records when it comes to sudden castastrophic events. I would like to think I would have a few beers and spend reflective time with my family, but I can’t predict that. I am not even sure I can hope for that.

    Tim

  2. I have to say I agree with Tim… my mind begins to race of all the wonderful things I would love to do… and yet as you stated I can’t even be sure my family will all be within range of being together… it s a very interesting question I suppose if we could get a longer time span on it… that may change the answers some… lets pretend we had 12 hours then what would we do? (I still don’t know I would probably spend it trying to figure out some amazing thing to do only to never actually get do it…)

    • I think many of us have ideas what we think we want to do, but like Tim mentions, if that moment occurs those ideas probably go out the window. More time would add another dimension to the question and does potentially present more options.

  3. Rick says:

    I would get in the car; let the windows down; and drive on backroads until there were no roads left.

  4. JasmineKyleSings says:

    I woud sit and talk and laugh with my family.. Just spend time together. Maybe make a beautiful meal…

  5. I’d probably panic and do something really stupid like clean the house…

  6. Shannygirl says:

    I would go to my husband and kids… we would do whatever it is that made us happy in those final moments.. play a game.. play barbies.. just be.

  7. luv2sex.info says:

    I’m not sure about this, but if this is not the end of the world and if it is only me that have only an hour left in my life, I will try to settle any outstanding things and if not possible will try to tell my closed ones, of course, I hope my last moments will be with the people I love and who are close to me. If I have any assets left, I will quickly do a will.

    Your question is a good and simple one. But it is not easy to answer it. Somehow your question should help people to think what is really important to them. Is it wealth, job, power, glory, love ? Once in a while, we should keep asking ourselves this question.

    Remember Steve Jobs once asked himself a similar question when he was faced with the choice of whether to miss an important meeting or to meet the girl he loved. In the end he chose the girl who became his wife.

    • You are correct the question is meant for us to think about what is important, not just for the last 60 minutes of the world but all of the other minutes leading up to that point.

      Thank you for your comments. I am glad you stopped by.

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,352 other followers

What I have been up to
January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
