The Song Never Remains the Same

The idea for this post came from reading Sare at “Restlessvagabond” and Addy at “All that I am.  All that I ever was”   So in no way do I claim this idea to be of my own making.

I, like most people, love music.  Music and radio have been a part of my life since as long as I can remember, which these days doesn’t seem very long.   As a child I would fall asleep with a small radio under my pillow so I could listen to music, a sporting event, or the late Jim White on KMOX out of St. Louis.  Today, I still enjoy having the radio on, or listening to Slacker Radio, my iPod, anything that brings music into my day. These are all songs that I have yet to grow tired of.  I will try to add a little to each song as to why they are on this list and this is only a partial list as I am sure I could add many more.  They are also in no particular order.  So without any further yapping here is my list:

1. Paradise by the Dashboard Light-Meat Loaf

I love the wholes story the song tells.  I love the metaphor the baseball call represents, I love the buildup to the baseball game, than the regret after the game.

2. Let It Be-The Beatles

When I find myself in times of trouble

Mother Mary comes to me

Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

And when the night is cloudy

There is still a light that shines on me

Shine on until tomorrow, let it be

The lyrics to the song offer comfort and hope to me.

3. Forever Young-Alphaville/ Young Forever Jay-Z

“It’s so hard to get old without a cause
I don’t want to perish like a fading horse
Youth is like diamonds in the sun
And diamonds are forever
So many adventures couldn’t happen today
So many songs we forgot to play
So many dreams are swinging out of the blue
We let them come true”

The Alphaville song, many say, is written about living during the Cold War, and the threat of nuclear war.  The above lyrics are my favorite part of the song.  The Jay-Z song incorporates the opening lyrics to the Alphaville song and the refrain, however I think the rest of Jay-Z’s song reflect the same hope that the Alphaville song does.

4. Superman-Five for Fighting

Please see the post I wrote about this song here.

5. People are People-Depeche Mode

People are people so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully
Help me understand

A song to remind me (us) we are all individuals regardless of race, sex, religion, or creed.

6 You Shook Me All Night Long-AC/DC

Heavy metal by one of it’s finest groups.  Hard thumping great hooks, song gets me fired up every time I hear it.

7. When Smokey Sings-ABC

A tribute to some of the great crooners, Luther Vandross, Sly and The Family Stone, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, and of course Smokey Robinson.

8. I Melt With You-Modern English

Reminds me of my days working at a college radio station.

9. People Are Crazy-Billy Currington

“God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy.”

Basically my philosophy on life sometimes

10. Video Killed the Radio Star-The Buggles

Yes, I know this was the first song played on MTV, but the meaning of the song is so much more to me especially since being a DJ has been a life long dream of mine and radio as a whole means so much to me. Music videos took away some of the “theater” we created in our mind about the songs we hear.

11. Sounds of Silence-Simon and Garfunkel

“Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again”

I have spent many times talking to darkness.  The whole song is very powerful even in these times we face today.

12 Legend of Wooley Swamp-Charlie Daniels Band

A great ghost story, and being born and raised in the “Show Me State”  I can relate to the lines;

“But I couldn’t believe it.
I just had to find out for myself.
And I couldn’t conceive it
‘Cause I never would have listened to nobody else.”

13 Mexican Radio-Wall of Voodoo

A song about being on the radio. how can I not like this song?  Plus in the video, the face coming up from the bottom of a bowl filled with beans is an image I could never get out of my mind.

14. Brown Eyed Girl-Van Morrison

This one is more about the memories associated with this song.  Hanging out with friends in college at a bar listening to a band, and the band did a great cover version of this song.  Ever since then I have fallen in love with this song.

15. Baby Got Back-Sir Mix a Lot

Completely irreverent and offensive to some, and I understand that, but also a hilarious song that brings a smile to my face every time I hear it.

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with:
Posted in Life, Music

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
