But Can You Walk the Walk? Post 3 in our 4 Part Series

Part 3 of a 4 part series with KnowledgeKnut

When I wrote “Invisible”, it seemed easy to issue the challenge to myself and everyone else, to reach out to others, to say hi to a stranger. But could I follow through on my own challenge? Could I make the first move and smile at a passerby? Say more than hi to the people, “strangers” I see daily? At first it was hard, heck it still is hard.

We (I) hope for a friendlier society, but I have trouble stepping out of that comfort zone that I have created. So it is easier for me to criticize others for not offering the smile, the hello, that friendly wave. Then I was hit smack in the face, KnowledgeKnut (KK) reached out to me about doing this series. KK relayed to me the events that they experienced in taking up my challenge and the effect the post had on KK’s life. I was stunned! Here was an individual who took up my challenge and seemed to have a wonderful experience. If KK was able to have positive results, then A) why can’t I put more effort into my own challenge, and B) what other positive results may occur if others start trying?  I’m realistic to know that the world can’t change overnight, however small acts such as these can’t make the world any worse.  I knew that I needed to get my act in gear and start following up on my own challenge.

After agreeing to do this series with KK, I have started to make a concise effort to smile to others while I’m out, interact more with others I see on a regular basis. The FedEx guy who comes to my office every day, I have started to talk with him more, more than just the “hi” or “good afternoon”. I was hiking a trail last Sunday and I made an effort to say hi to each hiker I passed on the trail. It was rewarding as each hiker returned the greeting, many with smiles or another friendly comment. I know, however, that these actions are not enough. I have to push myself to do more. I shouldn’t be content with small efforts. I keep reading KK’s efforts and results and I want to achieve similar results. I think the words to Michael Jackson’s song “Man in the Mirror” sum it up best

“I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you wanna make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself and then make a change”

Feel free to check back with me and ask how I am doing on the challenge, hold me accountable to my own challenge.

Frontrangescribbles

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Posted in Life
3 comments on “But Can You Walk the Walk? Post 3 in our 4 Part Series
  1. kashimarie says:

    i like your post really. It reminds me of someone i knew. She too is kind of aloof sometimes.

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
