De Plane, De Plane

When I was a younger scribbler, I used to watch the show “Fantasy Island”.  The original one with Ricardo Montalban as Mr Roarke and Herve’ Villechaize as Tattoo.  In case you never saw the show, the premise was that guests would go to this island and Mr Roarke would fulfill a fantasy of theirs, however in doing so there usually was a price. Which was always a downer.

Growing up I always wanted to be a radio DJ.  Be the next Wolfman Jack.  I did get to live that dream, briefly, while in college working at the college radio station.  I loved it, loved every minute of it.  I tried to get a paying job in radio and actually had a part-time job for a short period of time but I could not survive on the pay.  To this day I still have that dream, I still want to work at a radio station, I still want to play the music that gets people excited, or brings back a memory when they hear the song.  Now, I’m working in “corporate America” in a line of work that is no where close to my degree in Communications.  To relive that dream of being a DJ again, what sacrifices would I have to make? What would be the price of me having that fantasy come true?

We all fantasize about something or say to ourselves if I had this..or did this..I would be happy.  The question is if we had the chance to fulfill our fantasy or achieve the happiness we want by doing X would we be content and what are we willing to give up or lose to obtain that happiness.Everything usually comes with a price and I don’t mean dollar wise.  The happiness we seek may come at the cost of something else.  The perfect job may cost you in personal time, time with family and friends.  The bigger paycheck may come with longer hours, more stress and pressure.  In the end is the fantasy or happiness achieved worth the risk?  Questions no one can answer but ourselves.  It’s still fun to dream though.

Why can’t we find happiness or have a fantasy fulfilled without it costing something?  Whoever is in charge of that department needs to change things.  Same way why couldn’t the guests on Fantasy Island have their fantasy fulfilled without something bad happening?  I guess that’s just one of those areas that is covered by the phrase “Life sucks, then you die”

“My dear guests, I am Mr. Roarke, your host. Welcome to Fantasy Island.”

PS If any dear reader owns a radio station or has a connection to one that is looking for a DJ, email me please 🙂

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Dreams, Life

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
September 2012
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
