I don’t want to work, I just want to bang on the drum all day long!

I have a love hate relationship with Sundays.  I love the fact that I’m off work, I can sleep in, go hiking or off roading in my vehicle.  When winter starts to arrive, I can have a lazy Sunday watching football or some movies.  Sundays can be family time since the kids usually don’t have practices or games with their various sporting ventures.  I think Craig Morgan summed up Sundays the best with his song “That’s What I Like About Sundays”  He basically paints a picture, at least for me, of a lazy relaxing day.  The kind of Sundays I love.

The hate is knowing I have to go to work the next day.  The dread, as Sunday afternoon turns into Sunday night, only grows.  It’s like back when I was a kid and dreading Sunday night because school was the next day.  By the time I head to bed, I have already started the countdown to Friday’s quitting time.  The mind is calculating how many hours until the next weekend rolls around.  Since I don’t work for the federal, state, county or city governments I don’t get all those bonus days off or extra three-day weekends, outside of Memorial Day and Labor Day.  No I don’t even get President’s Day or MLK Day.

I believe work is interfering too much with my free time.  I’m ready to jump on the next get rich quick scheme so I can have more time to play.  I need to win one of the huge Powerball jackpots, of course I should start playing Powerball to increase my chance of winning.  Oh well, 40 working hours to go this week until the weekend rolls along. Todd Rundgren said it best, I don’t want to work, I just want to bang on the drum all day long.

 

Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Life, Music

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,353 other followers

What I have been up to
August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
