Quality not Quanity

Dire Straits had it correct “That ain’t working, that’s the way you do it, get your money for nothing…”

I present to you for your consideration “Feel So Close” by Calvin Harris.  Mr Harris must not have worked very hard coming up with the lyrics to this hit song.  Six lines, dance beat, repeat the same six lines again, dance beat, repeat one of the previous six lines three times, then repeat another line again.

I feel so close to you right now
It’s a force-field
I wear my heart upon my sleeve, like a big deal
Your love bows down, I mean surround me like a waterfall
And there’s no stopping us right now
I feel so close to you right now

(Dance beat plays)

I feel so close to you right now
It’s a force-field
I wear my heart upon my sleeve, like a big deal
Your love bows down, I mean surround me like a waterfall
And there’s no stopping us right now
I feel so close to you right now

(Dance beat plays)

And there’s no stopping us right now

And there’s no stopping us right now

And there’s no stopping us right now

I feel so close to you right now…

Feel So Close lyrics © EMI Music Publishing
I’m not doubting Mr Harris’ musical talent or ability, heck I can’t play three notes on a guitar (but I play a mean guitar hero.)  I’m sure the popularity of the song has to do more with the beat and dance-ability than the wealth and depth of lyrics.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand repeating some lyrics in a song especially in the refrain, but a song consisting of only six main lines?
Did he write the first six lines get a sudden case of writer’s block and decide to just repeat the same six lines again?  Did he write the music bed first and decide to add a few lyrics as an after thought?  What ever the situation was I congratulate Mr Harris on creating a hit song with a minimal amount of lyrics.
Muses from the front range of the Rocky Mountains

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

Hear the musicians featured on FrontRangeScribbles on Front Range Radio

Sunday 9pm ET on KCMJ Colorado Springs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,352 other followers

What I have been up to
July 2012
S M T W T F S
    Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
